Open every day 12 pm–2 pm & 6:30pm–9:30 pm including Sundays and holidays
Contact & Reservations
 +33 (0)1 42 96 36 89
14, rue Favart - 75002 Paris

The Opéra Comique

Established during the time of Louis XIV, the Opéra Comique is one of the oldest theatrical and musical institutions in France. Its repertoire primarily consisted of pantomimes and opera parodies, thwarting the prohibitions that affected its performances as a result of a lawsuit that was filed by the Comédie Française, who were concerned that its performances constituted direct competition. Nevertheless, in 1714 the troupe was authorised by decree to have its own theatre, on the condition that spoken dialogue was inserted between the songs.

Opéra

The musical genre of 'opéra-comique' is the genre of performances given by the Opéra Comique. 'Comique', or 'comical' doesn't mean that the stories are supposed to be funny but that pieces of song are integrated with spoken theatre. In this way, opéra-comique differentiates itself from opera, which is completely sung.

The théâtre national de l’Opéra-Comique, also known as the 'Salle Favart' after the famous author of librettos for the opéra comique Charles-Simon Favart, is located on Place Boieldieu. Inaugurated in 1783 in the presence of the Queen, Marie Antoinette, a fire caused by the heating system destroyed the Salle in 1838. In 1840, the Salle Favart was rebuilt. Unfortunately, in 1887, another fire, caused by a defective gas light above the state, once again destroyed the Salle during the first act of a performance of the Operetta 'Mignon'. After the fire, electric lighting became obligatory in all theatres and cafés-concerts. The Salle was once again rebuilt by the architect Louis Bernier and inaugurated in 1898, after eight years of reconstruction, in the presence of the President of France, Félix Faure. It can hold approximately 1,255 people.


Opéra

A magnificent monument

Architecturally, the Opéra Comique is often considered to be equivalent to the Opéra Garnier but on a smaller scale. The performers appreciate its 'human' dimension, which brings them closer to the audience.
After its bankruptcy in 1932, the Opéra Comique was combined with the Opéra under the same management (Réunion des Théâtres Lyriques Nationaux) and in 1939 became a branch of the Opéra de Paris. In 1990 it once again became independent and was successively directed by Thierry Fouquet, Pierre Médecin, Jérôme Savary (2000 -2007), and Jerôme Deschamps (2007-2015). It is currently directed by Olivier Mantei. Since 2007, the Opéra Comique has rediscovered its vocation as an operatic house, staging Baroque masterpieces ('Atys', 'Pelléas et Mélisande'), mythical works created in-house ('Carmen', 'Lakmé'...) and, above all, exhuming its historical repertoire: the opéra comique and the operetta. These whimsical pieces primarily seek to entertain and have often been forgotten over time: 'Mârouf Savetier du Caire', an immense success during the interwar period with 2,000 performances, or 'Ciboulette', during which the audience were invited to sing along, or even 'Les Mousquetaires au Couvent', an operetta by Louise Varney from 1880...

To read more

Ouverture tous les jours 12h00–14h00 & 18h30–21h30 y compris Dimanche et jours fériés
Contact & Réservation
 01 42 96 36 89
14, rue Favart - 75002 Paris

L’Opéra Comique

Créé sous Louis XIV, l’Opéra Comique est l’une des plus anciennes institutions théâtrales et musicales de France. Son répertoire était surtout constitué de pantomimes et de parodies d'opéras, pour déjouer les interdictions dont ses représentations étaient frappées à la suite de procès intentés par la Comédie-Française, inquiète face à ces spectacles qui lui portaient directement concurrence. La troupe fut cependant autorisée par un décret de 1714 à avoir son propre théâtre, à condition d’intercaler des dialogues parlés dans les œuvres chantées.

Opéra

Le genre musical de « l’opéra-comique » est le genre de spectacle représenté par l’Opéra Comique, « comique » ne signifiant pas que l’histoire suscite le rire mais que les morceaux chantés s’intègrent à du théâtre parlé. L’opéra-comique s’oppose ainsi à l’opéra, qui est entièrement chanté.

Le théâtre national de l’Opéra-Comique, aussi appelé « salle Favart » d’après le fameux auteur de livrets pour l’opéra comique Charles-Simon Favart, est situé place Boieldieu. Inauguré en 1783 en présence de la reine Marie-Antoinette, un premier incendie dû au système de chauffage détruit la salle en 1838. En 1840, la salle est reconstruite. Hélas, en 1887 un nouvel incendie provoqué par une défectuosité de l'éclairage au gaz de la herse située au-dessus de la scène détruit de nouveau la salle pendant la représentation du premier acte de l’opérette « Mignon ».
À la suite de cet incendie, l'éclairage à l'électricité devint obligatoire dans tous les théâtres et cafés-concerts. La salle fut à nouveau reconstruite par l'architecte Louis Bernier et inaugurée en 1898, après onze ans de reconstruction, en présence du président de la République, Félix Faure. Elle a une capacité de 1255 places environ.


Opéra

Un monument magnifique

Sur le plan architectural, l'Opéra-Comique est souvent considéré comme l'équivalent de l'Opéra Garnier en une taille plus réduite. Les artistes apprécient sa dimension humaine, permettant une plus grande proximité avec le public.
Suite à une faillite en 1932, l’Opéra Comique a été uni à l’Opéra sous une direction commune (réunion des Théâtres Lyriques Nationaux) et devient en 1939 une succursale de l’Opéra de Paris. Il retrouve son autonomie en 1990 et est successivement dirigé par Thierry Fouquet, Pierre Médecin puis Jérôme Savary (2000 -2007), Jerôme Deschamps (2007-2015) et actuellement Olivier Mantei. Depuis 2007, l'Opéra comique a retrouvé sa vocation de maison lyrique, donnant des chefs d'œuvres baroques ("Atys", "Pelléas et Mélisande"), des œuvres mythiques créées dans la maison ("Carmen", "Lakmé"...) et surtout en exhumant son répertoire historique : l'opéra comique et l'opérette, œuvres légères tombées dans l'oubli qui ont le divertissement comme vocation : "Mârouf Savetier du Caire", immense succès entre les deux guerres avec 2.000 représentations, ou "Ciboulette", où le public était invité à pousser la chansonnette, ou encore, les "Mousquetaires au Couvent", une opérette de Louis Varney de 1880…

pour lire la suite